Why does my vape become hot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christian Cruz

Nov 23, 2017
Im new to vaping and yesterday i bought my first vape which is a second hand vgod elite set. The guy who i bought it to has already rebuilt the coil so i thought there would be no problem and i even tested it when we met up, it was working fine. When I got home, I tested it again, i put some ejuice in the coil and cotton and started vaping it. But after 2-3 puffs, I start to get dry hits even though there is enough juice in it. Also, the mod, battery, especially the atomizer gets sooo hot. I also noticed that the coil was burnt. I am not familiar with mech mods so I dont know what the problem is. Is it because the ohms of the dual coil is too high for the battery? Is it because of the coil itself? Am i doing something wrong? Should i replace it with new coils? here's a picture of the coil:

If im doing something wrong, please tell and teach me how to vape properly lol. Please help thanks.

Wraith504

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 25, 2014
New Orleans, LA
Can you tell us what the ohms are? maybe it is not wicked properly. Warm on a mech mod is acceptable. HOT is bad. Lots of things can be going on here. The first thing would be to tell us the resistance in ohms of the atomizer and what battery are you using.

Christian Cruz

Nov 23, 2017
Can you tell us what the ohms are? maybe it is not wicked properly. Warm on a mech mod is acceptable. HOT is bad. Lots of things can be going on here. The first thing would be to tell us the resistance in ohms of the atomizer and what battery are you using.
I dont know what the ohms are, can you tell the best and safest ohms for my vape so i could replace it now? Im using an LG choco battery

Wraith504

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 25, 2014
New Orleans, LA
I dont know what the ohms are, can you tell the best and safest ohms for my vape so i could replace it now? Im using an LG choco battery