Why is lower ohm rating for coils desirable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

6steelstrings

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 14, 2014
North Carolina Triad
I have been reading about RBAs and it seems like the lower the ohm rating the better, even as low as under 1 ohm.

What is the advantage of having a lower ohm rating for coils? I understand that lower ohms means that less voltage is necessary, so is this to be able to extend battery life?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Choc_Addic

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 26, 2013
Caldicote tunnel
I understand that lower ohms means that less voltage is necessary, so is this to be able to extend battery life?
I can answer just one part of your question as I'm a noob also.

Lower Ohm actually eats through your battery really fast. An less volt is necessary is false.

I myself enjoy 1.5Ohm to 1.8Ohm on 30g kanthal.

Cheers

epicdoom

ECF Veteran
Apr 12, 2014
Maryland USA
There are a couple things happening at low Ohms, the lower the ohm coil the faster it heats up. What that means is vapor almost instantly when firing the mod. As apposed to the 2+ seconds it takes to get a high Ohms coil up to atomizing temps. The low ohm coils stay at a higher temp even though the juice is trying to cool it, this often causes the vape to be warm to hot and a higher chance to burn if not wicked properly. I like a slightly warm vape, so I first blow into my RBA, RDA or what have you. I blow in for a second or 2 then I inhale. I get more vapor that way and its warm rite at the mid through end of the vape. I usually stay at 1.2 1.5 ohms for gen. vaping, on my RDAs I go to .7 .8. I have vaped at .3 ohms and it was to hot and to much vapor in my congested lungs rite now. Maybe one day Ill be able to hit those big pulls, but for now I'm content to chuck the nice clouds I get doing it my way, There not massive but they are pretty good. IMO

Last edited:

1ne2woBe

Apr 18, 2014
United States