The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

Wicking Problems

Discussion in 'General Vaping Discussion' started by Tan12, Feb 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Tan12

    Tan12 Full Member

    Nov 5, 2017
    Howdy Vapers! I have a problem about wicking the cotton ( I’m using Japanese organic cotton ) and my cotton is always broken maybe after 3-5 hours. I don’t chain vape or over vape.

    How tight should I wick ? Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. stols001

    stols001 Mistress of the Dark Nicotinic Arts Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    May 30, 2017
    Tucson, AZ
    Cotton breaking in the coil is a sign the coil is too tight. I would start by using a bit less wicking in the coil if you can. A cotton wick should last a few days or slightly more, not hours. You may want to try rayon, if you tend to overwick, as it shrinks when wet, and is also prone to more longevity. It might be useful for you to try it, although it can still be overstuffed.

    Best of luck,

    Anna
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. Asbestos4004

    Asbestos4004 Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Sep 11, 2013
    Sugar Hill, Georgia
    Have you considered a slightly spaced coil? Contact coils can get pretty hot and dry towards the center. I find a slight increase in flavor with spaced coils and no problems with broken wicks .
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. Ralph_K

    Ralph_K Senior Member

    Jan 1, 2018
    What I'm using is the graham cellucotton beauty coils. Its the 100% cotton not the rayon. They have both. I like the format of already being round. Just wicked my rdta and I tried something different took one of the beauty coils cut it down the middle then put one of the piece in a extra long cigarette roller I had laying around came out with a beautiful wick
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
  5. Ralph_K

    Ralph_K Senior Member

    Jan 1, 2018
    You should be able to move wick back end forth easily but no too loose.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. Tan12

    Tan12 Full Member

    Nov 5, 2017
    I’m able to move but not that loose. Its a bit hard to move the cotton.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  7. Letitia

    Letitia Citrus Junkie ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Apr 2, 2017
    West Frankfort, IL
    Are you sure you are cutting the cotton in the right direction? Makes a difference, there is only one right way to cut a pad. Along the long fibers.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. stols001

    stols001 Mistress of the Dark Nicotinic Arts Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    May 30, 2017
    Tucson, AZ
    Yep, you've just got a bit too much wick going on, is my suspicion. You can just wick it slightly less, and it is easier when you cut the fibers in the right direction. One of the reasons I enjoy my cellucotton that is rayon, is it comes out of the box and I can just cut a piece but I already have the orientation right. I doubt I would enjoy cotton balls OR rayon balls. The rayon Sally's makes is just ideal for easy wicking. But, mainly, reduce the amount in your coil slightly.

    Anna
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Coastal Cowboy

    Coastal Cowboy This aggression will not stand, man! Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Jun 13, 2013
    Alabama Gulf Coast
    I think you may be on to something.
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 4
  10. Letitia

    Letitia Citrus Junkie ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Apr 2, 2017
    West Frankfort, IL
    Have seen it happen and OP hasn't mentioned burning the wick, just breaking it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Tan12

    Tan12 Full Member

    Nov 5, 2017
    It has a burning taste even though the cotton is still wet. But when I check the cotton its already broken into 2 pcs
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. stols001

    stols001 Mistress of the Dark Nicotinic Arts Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    May 30, 2017
    Tucson, AZ
    That sounds exactly like too much wicking to me. It also makes sense the coil is gunking up, as too much wick in the coil can actually overheat the coil and it can be difficult to get juice to the coil consistently.

    Best of luck,

    Anna
     
  13. Kickingthesticks

    Kickingthesticks Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    May 6, 2016
    How is it breaking? Make sure the cotton is going with the fibers length wise cut this way========= not
    llllllllllllll this way
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Tan12

    Tan12 Full Member

    Nov 5, 2017
    This what my build looks like
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  15. Tan12

    Tan12 Full Member

    Nov 5, 2017
    I'm cutting it length wise
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Letitia

    Letitia Citrus Junkie ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Apr 2, 2017
    West Frankfort, IL
    It's probably just the pic, but it looks like one coil is 6 wraps and the other 5 wraps. Also looks like one coil is closer to the posts than the other. The angle of the pic makes it hard to tell.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Ralph_K

    Ralph_K Senior Member

    Jan 1, 2018
    They're both 5 wraps
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Tan12

    Tan12 Full Member

    Nov 5, 2017
    Its both 5loops. And I’m using regulated series
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Coastal Cowboy

    Coastal Cowboy This aggression will not stand, man! Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Jun 13, 2013
    Alabama Gulf Coast
    That wick job looks pretty good. That's a fat coil build though. I'm betting that it takes a lot of energy to get it up to temperature.
    What wattage are you trying to vape it with? Are you using temperature control (assuming that's SS)?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  20. Tan12

    Tan12 Full Member

    Nov 5, 2017
    I'm using NCv2 there's not TC set up. Only voltage mode and regulated parallel
     
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice