Status
Not open for further replies.

Stormynights

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2009
Bristow, Ok.
I have read here that a lot of people put on a new coil for every fill up. I'd like to hear what is your favorite coil method single dual etc. Wicks dual or single. How often do you change and why. I am new to the Ody and I don't like a new coil. for me it has to break in. New it just tastes nasty.

wreimer

ECF Veteran
Dec 11, 2011
Calgary, Alberta
I wrap a new coil every fill. Dual wick, normally 2 - 2.1 ohm. I generally install the new coil, do a 10-15 second dry burn, fill it up and it's good to go.
I've never found a new coil tasted nasty...just the opposite....with a small caveat...I do that dry burn first.
I find the Ody is pretty hard on coils anyway, and after a day or so of use the wick is pretty charred ( I'm using it on a Stealth, BTW) and it is starting to taste a bit burnt, and it doesn't produce nearly as much vapor as it does new.
No rules though...if you don't like a new coil for some reason...I'd avoid it.

keighles

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 2, 2011
Maryland
I think you will get a lot of different ideas and preferences to who likes what and how they do it. Each coil no matter how you do it seams to be slightly different to the last, some better, some worse. Just a result of doing it by hand.
I like to make mine a single coil with 2 equal sizes of wick 1.9 ohms at 3.7volts. I don't put the wick down the channels of the ody ceramic. I leave them out in the tank. I find this gives the best results for me.
Mine last me about a week, I dry burn before refilling. The coil will last longer than the wick, the wick will fray at the ends and pieces of it will come off. I suppose I could re wrap the coil on a new wick but I don't bother. Just toss it then make a new one.

Last edited:

Tgoode

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 13, 2012
Ontario
tgoode.zenfolio.com