Status
Not open for further replies.

Scottes

Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 31, 2009
Boston, MA
scottesrum.com
A couple weeks ago - I’m a newbie - I spent about 15-20 hours researching e-cigs, 98% of the time reading threads here. This research led me to purchase 510s for my wife and I. Come to find out, I don’t love my 510, but my wife does.

I started a thread looking for something better for me - http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo.../36507-not-loving-my-510-whats-better-me.html. One of the replies got me to thinking about why I made the decision to purchase a 510. In hindsight, some of the decisions where wrong, mainly due my misconceptions or my failure to find specific information during my research. I think it might be useful for some newbies to learn from my research and mistakes, so I figured that I’d document my hindsight.

Please note that I am a newbie, and I don’t know everything about e-cigs. Thus, I try to be clear about what I know and don’t know. I will likely have some mistakes in this post, so I’m hoping that some knowledgeable folks come forth and correct them

vaping with an Auto Battery vs Manual Battery
Pressing a button or not meant nothing to my wife or I. Thus this was not given any consideration in our choice.

Automatic unexpected activation
Many people mentioned that autos can go off without drawing (do to loud noises and such). That scared us away from autos a bit.

I now feel this is unfounded, and is likely to happen only in extreme situations (rock concerts, clubbing, etc). I have attempted to get my auto 901 to activate and have failed despite some clever attempts. So I should not have considered this to be a concern.

Manual unexpected activation
IMHO, this is easily avoided. This was not considered to be a negative point.

Auto vs Manual and Dripping