A123 LiFePO4 cells useable in APV/VV setups?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrkSdeOTM

Dec 4, 2013
Edgerton KS
First time poster, been vaping for about a year now, but looking to make the jump to a VV setup. I work in the r/c industry so I have a LOT of A123 18650 1100mAh cells, given to me directly from someone who used to work there so there is no counterfeit risk. I see most are using LiMn (3.7v nominal, 4.2v fully charged)...A123 cells are 3.3v nominal, 3.6v fully charged, but can handle lower discharge voltage than LiMn cells. Wondering if there are any VV setups out there that will work with these cells...obviously it would cut out battery cost, and I know these cells will handle the wattage. We run them in r/c planes, cars, etc at up to 30C discharge. Having never used a VV setup I'm wondering if #1 the lower voltage is going to cause issues with low voltage protection cutoff in these devices, #2 if there are any ways around this (programmable units, voltage setting on the unit itself that will allow it to work, using different resistance Kenthal wire, etc), and #3 if you can make recommendations on a specific setup that will work. In this for the long haul so fire whatever price setups at me. Appreciate any help you can give.

Dakota Jim

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 14, 2013
in a warehouse buried near Univille SD
I am by no means an expert on batteries but it seems they are too low of a charge as most APV's will quit working at 3.3 or 3.2 volts

here are some places to look for answers

Ask The Veterans

or

Modding Forum

and once you get your 5 posts in you can ask this question in those forums (may take a day or 3 for a vet to reply)

Welcome to the ECF
9pribk.gif
295xrtd.gif
9pribk.gif

Steam Turbine

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
May 3, 2013
Montreal Quebec Canada
Hi, Welcome to ECF

1: Every vv mod that I know of have a protection cutoff around the nominal voltage of the batteries that you are talking about... So that's no good.