Status
Not open for further replies.

Oryx

May 13, 2013
Rowland Heights
So I have been vaping for almost a year now and still don't fully understand whether or not it is safe to charge batteries overnight (and some other battery stuff).. Probably a ridiculously noob question lol but I've searched everywhere (kinda) and didn't find a clear answer. I also don't want to have a potential pipe bomb sitting in my room where they charge lol. So my questions are as follows:

1. Does the safety of "overnight charging" depend on what type of battery is being charged? (i.e. IMR, 18650, AW, 18350, xxx mAh)

2. Which batteries are protected? Do you look for the label like "Li-on" or "IMR" ?

3. If it is safe to charge batteries overnight, does it affect the life span of the battery?

4. What is "IMR" "AW" and "ICR"?

Thanks! And please excuse my nooby questions haha this is the only thing i never really understood :p

Nermal

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 8, 2013
Farmington, NM USA
I'm new to the whole thing too, Oryx, but I've been working under the assumption that it's the same as a cell phone. Plug it in and forget it. That's what I've been doing for the past week or two, with no problems to date. If I'm wrong, don't send me a bill; I'm only passing on my own limited experience.

By the way, do you or someone else know how to keep up with your threads and posts? I'm sure it's obvious to everyone else.

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal
I'm new to the whole thing too, Oryx, but I've been working under the assumption that it's the same as a cell phone. Plug it in and forget it. That's what I've been doing for the past week or two, with no problems to date. If I'm wrong, don't send me a bill; I'm only passing on my own limited experience.