Coffee and bourbon

Status
Not open for further replies.

vaper1960

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2019
California, US
I'm new to DIY juices. Mostly just learning before I jump in, but I did have an idea: making my own extract by soaking coffee in bourbon and making and extract. I don't intend on this being a main flavor... more like something to make a custard more interesting (and thin out High VG) Anyone tried this... any suggestions?

Reactions: stols001

Skeebo

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
May 31, 2014
07f.jpg

vaper1960

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2019
California, US
Could be a while before you get an answer. For most of us, DIY means mixing premade concentrated flavors, and homemade is discouraged or feared. We're particularly leery of oil-based compounds that are not water-soluble.
It's not "oil based" It's alcohol based (only oil would be naturally in the coffee) I already know that high VG juices and be "thinned" with water or even vodka (grain alcohol and water) if not overdone. All I want is some coffee flavor as well (and bourbon flavor)
Imagine I was cooking and wanted to use actual vanilla bean and everyone freaks out because I'm not using a product that comes in a little bottle. Anyone actually have a useful answer? I do appreciate your honesty, BTW.

Dougiestyle

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 5, 2011
Knoxville, TN USA
I have added bourbon to liquid. It is discouraged due to the heavy minerals that may be present, but I believe it to still be safer than smoking. The alcohol and bourbon are distinguishable and add a note to my vanilla cream base. TFA Kentucky bourbon is a tough one to get just right, but some have nailed it.