Coil manufacture resistance settings?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdrncds

Multiple ID Suspension
Oct 25, 2017
Farmington Hills, MI
Hi,

Im new to vaping, and I got lots of questions, and this would be my very first question post?

My smok v8-Q4 coil has imprinted info of 0.15Ω and best 90W-150W on it.
Questions:
  1. What happens when you raising resistance and lowering wattage, and vice versa?
  2. Should I always stick with 0.15Ω settings?
  3. For best results, is 120W golden mean for the coil above @0.15?
  4. Should I go with the highest number wattage setting when my coil is fresh and new?
Thank you.

Edited> When I say new to vaping, and my signature banner says since 2017 Feb, I swear I not trolling. All this time, Iv been using settings which defined by the replacement coil imprint. Took me a half a year to give a shot experiment with digits.

Last edited:

Walee

ECF Veteran
Oct 6, 2017
Manufacturer ratings are guidelines. The "best practice" drill I've found is after priming a new coil and letting it soak for a bit in the tank, start at a lower wattage than stated on the guide lines. You may get a few hits that have some "coil/cotton" flavor as some coils need to "break in". Then move the wattage up by say 3 to 5 watts. Have a vape or two. Keep moving the wattage up and test vaping until the flavor starts diminishing or you start to taste a dryness to the vape. At that point move the wattage down to the last good setting. This a a way you can find the vape you like best. It's all about finding what you like not about what is printed on the coil.

Mr. Relentless

ECF Veteran
Oct 17, 2017