Not open for further replies.

HDVaper

Ultra Super Senior Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2013
Broken Arrow, OK
www.oktom.com
As you can see, this is not a pretty sight!!!! This is my first attempt and so far ZILCH!!! I have a question: is there different grades of silica wick? This stuff unravels and by the time I get through it looks like a cotton ball. I've noticed that it seems to break across the wick material when I wrap, like it's cut. This is for the birds and it looks so easy on the YouTube videos that I've watched. However the wick in the vids doesn't look like it disintegrates when handled HELP!!

EDIT: Also when I try to wrap the wick little fuzz balls start coming off and blowing around all over the place. This CAN'T be right can it?:mad:

disaster.jpg

Last edited:

bris1974

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 25, 2013
Wyoming
looks like a dripper build. don't cut your silica until you are done wrapping. leave it nice and long. take a small gauge needle and hold it along side your silica to give your working area a little strength. wrap your wire nice and easy around the silica and needle. when done, slide the needle out and mount your coil. last, trim the silica to the desired length.

HDVaper

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2013
Broken Arrow, OK
www.oktom.com
looks like a dripper build. don't cut your silica until you are done wrapping. leave it nice and long. take a small gauge needle and hold it along side your silica to give your working area a little strength. wrap your wire nice and easy around the silica and needle. when done, slide the needle out and mount your coil. last, trim the silica to the desired length.