Flying With My Vape Gear

Status
Not open for further replies.

wiseowl1

Mar 11, 2013
Cheyenne,WY
I will need to start flying rather than a two day drive with little notice in order to attend to my elderly mom who is in poor health 1500 miles from here. I haven't flown in about 8 years, and I've only been vaping about 2 years, so I have no experience flying with everything I need. I plan on taking my two Fuchai 213W mods, 2 or 3 TFV4's, as much juice in 50 or 30 ml bottles as I can get in a quart bag, about 8 pairs of LG hg2 18650 batteries and my Efest 6 bay charger. I have looked at the TSA regulations, and it looks like I would need to pack my mods, tanks, batteries and juice in my carry-on, but I cannot seem to find out if my charger can be packed in my checked bag or if it has to go in my carry-on with my other stuff. Does anyone know the answer, as well as any advice anyone has about my understanding of TSA's rules that I am wrong about. I would really appreciate it!

sofarsogood

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Oct 12, 2014
All your Li batteries should be in carry on no matter what they are for. I flew from Detroit to Newark yesterday. I had two regulated mods with battery installed but the atomizers were removed and the fire buttons disabled with 5 clicks. I carried a spare phone battery wrapped in plastic wrap with a strip of electrical tape covering the terminals. My opinion is loose 18650's should be in a plastic case or silicone sleeve. I didn't carry loose batteries because one mod can be charging while the other is in use. I don't do mechs but if you are carryig those may be the batteries should be in cases instead of the mod. It seems like most vaping injury accidents these days involve loose batteries with unprotected terminals. I'm sure if they charged you for an emergency landing it would be pricey.

djsvapour

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Oct 2, 2012
England and Wales
It used to be quite easy. Batteries MUST be in your carry on.