Getting others to start VAPING

Status
Not open for further replies.

tgardner23

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 7, 2012
nebraska
Ok so i have been vaping for a few months and want to get my dad off cigarettes and to start vaping he is a 2 pack a day smoker literally always has a cigarette in his mouth unless he is sleeping or eating and always said he won't quit smoking until "they throw dirt in his face" (dies) so i don't know if its a bad idea to even bring it up to him cause he doesn't want to quit smoking.

i was just wondering if anyone else was like my dad and never wanted to quit analogs and what got you to switch to e-cigs.

Caridwen

ECF Moderator
Senior Moderator
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 15, 2011
I always follow the saying don't give advice unless someone asks for it. For me that's almost impossible, but I bite my tongue. A lot. :D

I know you want to see him quit. When we find how great vaping is we become almost evangelical about it. I know I did because to me, vaping was really a miracle. Trying and failing to convert some friends and family, I think the best approach is to give them time to see how you're doing and wait for them to approach you.

I don't 'get' why some people I know won't even try vaping when all they do is talk about wanting to quit. It's a mystery to me. But if they ask, I'll be happy to help them get started. It's really all you can do.

juice_abuse

Verified Member
Dec 19, 2012
UK
I would also agree with the sentiments above. From a personal point of view, there was a time when I wanted to do analogues, but eventually got sick of them, and looked at alternatives such a NRT and eventually vaping. You have to have the will to quit analogues, if someone forces it on you, you become even more resistant. As above, don't be pushy, be quite neutral and if he asks about it eventually, then you should inform him.

tnt56

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 30, 2012
Tripple digits half way to home