Hi

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmy7368

Feb 28, 2021
I'm a 52 y/o man who has just been diagnosed with a blood clot in my leg. I've smoked since I was 11 years old. I have not smoked for a week now. My query is that I am on blood thinners (tinzaparin) and am due a follow up echo as urgent outpatient. Is it safe for me to vape? Sorry for the long winded questions I'm just very scared. Thank you.

Territoo

Diva
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
  • Jul 17, 2009
    Texas
    That's a decision between you and your doctor. I'm a retired physician who feels that vaping is a safer alternative to smoking, but not all physicians feel this way. Many are downright anti- vaping. I do not know you or enough of your history to make a recommendation, even though I feel that it is probably ok to vape. I just haven't heard all of your story and cannot replace your own physician. I would use gum, lozenges, or patches until you can discuss this with him/her. If s/he gives you the "no way, vaping is bad" response, then you have to make your own decision.

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
    Supporting Member
    ECF Veteran
    Apr 16, 2010
    So-Cal
    Hi Jimmy. Welcome to the ECF. If you are a Week without smoking, I would just Gut it Out and Not use an e-Cigarette.

The 1st 2 Weeks are when Most people Fail when Quitting Smoking. So if you could just get another Week or so under your Belt, you could probably come out of things Not Using Anything (Smoke or Vape).

And right Now Doesn't sound like a Good Time to be Experimenting with something New like an e-Cigarette.

Stay Strong. You can Make it.

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
    Supporting Member
    ECF Veteran
    Apr 16, 2010
    So-Cal