Inline Fuses

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sci

ECF Veteran
Dec 12, 2009
Al
Why can't a regular car fuse, the flat plastic ones, be used in a mod? If the current gets over X amps, the fuse does it's job & breaks the connection. Current flow stopped...
Wouldn't that cure these battery explosions that I have been reading about in here? Could it be that simple? I dug through my car spare fuse box & found some 2,3,4, & 5 amp fuses. What is the max allowable current in a mod before it starts getting dangerous?
Or - could the a section of the wiring be of such a diameter that when the current reaches X it simply melts & stops current flow? Basically a homemade inline fuse?
I'm just getting into HV mods & would really appreciate some feedback on this. I use a master switch, trigger switch, regulator(for HV), & protected batteries from a trusted source in everything I do.
Thanks.

petercro

ECF Veteran
Dec 18, 2009
Brough East Yorkshire, UK
Why can't a regular car fuse, the flat plastic ones, be used in a mod? If the current gets over X amps, the fuse does it's job & breaks the connection. Current flow stopped...
Wouldn't that cure these battery explosions that I have been reading about in here? Could it be that simple? I dug through my car spare fuse box & found some 2,3,4, & 5 amp fuses. What is the max allowable current in a mod before it starts getting dangerous?
Or - could the a section of the wiring be of such a diameter that when the current reaches X it simply melts & stops current flow? Basically a homemade inline fuse?
I'm just getting into HV mods & would really appreciate some feedback on this. I use a master switch, trigger switch, regulator(for HV), & protected batteries from a trusted source in everything I do.
Thanks.

I was thinking about this same solution this morning.
It's a very good Idea (A little research is required)
Or if Scottbee could jump in and help.

I would guess that the fuses in the car are rated for 12v use.
I don't know.