Not open for further replies.

Nuchuga

Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 30, 2013
Orange County, CA
Hey guys,

Im here today to briefly give an extremely important reminder to vape SAFELY. I work in the industry and this topic is not addressed nearly enough. Today I received an email from a person who had purchased an IPV 5 and attached was a extremely inappropriate paragraph and these photos. The person neglected battery safety and chose to use 2, unpaired batteries made for basic flashlight use, not anything close to "vaping ready". In result, the batteries vented and the mod caught fire, burning both his arm and his bed. Yes, I feel bad for this guy but, he chose to be irresponsible and these are the things that happen when choose to vape like so.
When I worked at a B&M, I was beyond cautious when building customers mods and was always insistent that they either have or buy a 25amp or higher battery otherwise I wouldnt give them a build. I urge everyone to stay weary whether in store or at home.
PLEASE PEOPLE, consider your choice of batteries and VAPE SAFE.

Last edited:

Susan~S

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 12, 2014
Mpls/St.Paul, MN
I've been seeing more and more people saying that they can use any battery in a regulated mod because the mod will protect it.

Completely untrue (as the user found out).

The mod will protect its circuit board. It has no idea if the battery is being stressed too hard or not. And a battery being stressed too hard will have a shortened life and, if stressed hard enough, can vent or worse.

You must still select a battery that can handle the current the mod draws without overheating.

puffon

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
  • Sep 18, 2014
    Florida
    I'm surprised these mods don't have warnings on them. I never seen a mod come with battery warnings.
    Every regulated mod I've bought, has instructions saying to use 20-30 amp 18650 batteries.
    A person just has to read them tho.

crxess