IPV3 ... A closer look.

Status
Not open for further replies.

WeirdWillie

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 4, 2014
Houston, Texas
Being an electrical engineer I thought I'd take a look inside my 3 day old IPV3 to see if I can figure out infamous non working external charging ports that is plaguing the IPV3's, the only thing I can think of is perhaps it is a firmware issue.
20141012_143832.jpg

While I was in there, I found out why the touch fire button doesn't work... its not firmware, so if you heard rumor it was a firmware issue it's not true.
No amount of firmware can make something work that is not there.
20141012_143652.jpg

Also found something else that was potential issue.
20141012_143750.jpg

Here is everything back together and working, got the Lemo setting on it right now rocking a .05 ohm parallel build with Japanese cotton cooking at 30 watts.
20141012_152250.jpg

Scy123

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 10, 2014
Canada
Thanks for sharing! makes me sad that their are so many issues, kinda regretting my decision to buy. Oh well would of probably bought it anyways knowing all this.

That fake touch button is funny and makes me angry at the same time. I thought it would be enabled in another update. Also didn't know the external charging port was not working, hope it's not a fake feature like the touch button.

This batch is looking more and more like a beta.

WeirdWillie

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 4, 2014
Houston, Texas
Thanks for sharing! makes me sad that their are so many issues, kinda regretting my decision to buy. Oh well would of probably bought it anyways knowing all this.

That fake touch button is funny and makes me angry at the same time. I thought it would be enabled in another update. Also didn't know the external charging port was not working, hope it's not a fake feature like the touch button.

This batch is looking more and more like a beta.