Mech mod clone with lowest voltage drop? And magnet question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dissonance

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 30, 2013
Dayton, OH, USA
So I'm fairly new to the mech world, got a Maraxus clone that works pretty well but won't hold up to the test of time... The paint on it is already deteriorating, but more importantly I can't take the switch apart to clean the spring. Also have an hcigar hammer clone, it just doesn't seem to hit nearly as hard as my Maraxus even after a good cleaning and upgrading the spring. Going to order another mech mod here in the next month or two and looking for suggestions. Was thinking about either a stingray, copper nemesis, or turtleship v2 (Ofc, all clones). Not really experienced with any of them, and it seems like different clones are built differently (For example, many people with a Maraxus CAN take apart their switch...) so looking to get an exact manufacturer / model that would perform the best.

Also, I have a question about magnets v.s. springs... What's the difference between them performance wise? I have a basic understanding on how mechs work so to my understanding magnets would be far superior performance wise, but like I said I'm fairly new so if someone has used both I'd like to know the pros and cons of each :)

SINphul

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 15, 2013
Ashburn, VA
Out of what I own and use, my naval brass Atmomixani Nemesis has the lowest voltage drop. On a 0.7 ohm dual microcoil setup, I get a voltage drop of about 0.15 volts. This is with all the tube threads being coated with Noalox.

From other mods I've seen and heard about, I've heard great things about the Olympus Creations pegasus (authentic and cloned). The Amerivape Manhattan is also supposed to be known for low (or next to no) voltage drop.

tc1

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 26, 2011
Ohio