Need DIY E Liquid help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AshJD94

Jun 2, 2013
North West, UK
Hello, I'm new to vaping and I decided to give DIY e-liquid a go. I understand the basics to E-liquid, vaping and how everything works (I'm also a student studying Biomedical Science so I am used to mixing liquids and performing serial dilutions and ratio mixes, etc.)

I'm now in my 2nd week of attempting to make my own liquid but it never seems right. I always get good clouds of smoke, good throat hit but very minor flavour from the actual flavourings; a chemical flavour seems to override it.

My model is the VIP Photon Tank.
The supplies and ingredients I bought to make my own juice are as follows:
100ml VG (no nicotine)
30ml PG (5.4%) "Unflavoured E Liquid"
10ml Blueberry Flavour (Perfume apprentice)

Please note: That's not my 'recipe', the 'ml' refers to the quantities I bought the ingredients in.

Everything I buy comes from Liberty Flights.

I make a solution of 2% strength and I have experimented with different amounts of flavour from 5% to 15% and each attempt has tasted the same- a slight chemical flavour with a hint of blueberry. I've started to let the solutions set over night with the cap off. I have noticed the colour darkens dramatically and the blueberry taste DOES increase, but the chemical taste still remains.

Any help would be much appreciated, thank you!

Last edited:

Dakota Jim

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 14, 2013
in a warehouse buried near Univille SD
Welcome to ECF

From the looks of it you are going with a very high VG percentage - VG does mute flavors quit a bit

Letting the juice sit overnight with the cap off is what we refer to as steeping (leaving the cap off is normally to let any alcohol in the flavoring to evaporate and only needs to be left off the first night generally)