New to DIY E-liquid, need help :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

AshJD94

Jun 2, 2013
North West, UK
Hello, I'm new to vaping and I decided to give DIY e-liquid a go. I understand the basics to e-liquid, vaping and how everything works (I'm also a student studying Biomedical Science so I am used to mixing liquids and performing serial dilutions and ratio mixes, etc.)

I'm now in my 2nd week of attempting to make my own liquid but it never seems right. I always get good clouds of smoke, good throat hit but very minor flavour from the actual flavourings; a chemical flavour seems to override it.

My model is the VIP Photon Tank.
The supplies and ingredients I bought to make my own juice are as follows:
VG (no nicotine)
PG (5.4%) "Unflavoured E Liquid"
Blueberry Flavour (Perfume apprentice)

Everything I buy comes from Liberty Flights.

I make a solution of 1.8% nic strength and I have experimented with different amounts of flavour from 5% to 15% and each attempt has tasted the same- a slight chemical flavour with a hint of blueberry. I've started to let the solutions set over night with the cap off. I have noticed the colour darkens dramatically and the blueberry taste DOES increase, but the chemical taste still remains.

Any help would be much appreciated, thank you!

trouble1000

PV Master of Valinor
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 22, 2013
Rochdale, Lancs, GB
www.puffin-eliquid.com
I always leave my DIY liquids to steep for at least a week.
Some need to be left for longer.
I've got some juices in my cupboard that I mixed up 5 weeks ago and I still haven't tried them yet.
Sorry can't help on the chemical taste, someone with more knowledge might recommend some form of sweetener.

FACE MEAT

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 1, 2013
Costa Mesa, CA