Status
Not open for further replies.

Huffelpuff

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 27, 2011
Philadelphia Burbs
I thought that it may be a good idea for new members to have a place to refer to for cleaning and maintenance of their SSGTS. The information below is gathered from some conversations that have taken place in the threads.

Would any of you GG Whizzes kindly critique/add to/take from what I've put together so far? I'm still learning so it would be helpful. Also, please let me know if you think that this is a good idea or overkill.

My intention in putting this together is to compile some of the good advice that the vets here have offered, and put it somewhere so that they do not need to perpetually give this advice. This is just a draft and I'd love to hear suggestions.

Thanks!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Cleaning
Recommendations include ultrasonic cleaning or cleaning gently with a very mild dish detergent like Dove. Jewelry cleaner can be used, select the type that is for gold or fine jewelry. Use an old toothbrush to clean threads, if necessary. Never use unfamiliar chemicals to clean a GG as the results can be disastrous. Take apart the GG completely and use the time to check your o-rings and lubricate them. They will perform better and last longer if you take the time to do so.
Lubrication should be done with Vaseline or Mineral Oil. Other materials, like noalox, may be hard to remove once they are applied. If you have heavy build up in the threads, Acetone may be used on the threads or the same polish that you are using on the PV.

Resources:
assembling and vaping GGTS (1) - YouTube
assembling and vaping GGTS (2) - YouTube
assembling and vaping GGTS (3) - YouTube

Buffing and Polishing

Never use abrasive polish.

(Old Engravings) While polishing (or buffing) always be careful to cover the engravings with tape.