New member mixing advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

lizmart

Jan 24, 2021
Hi thank you for allowing me to join,

Ive been vaping for around two years now and ive always bought my vape ready mixed recently the supplier i have used will only accept bitcoin so i thought it was time to start mixing my own but getting confused with a few things,

I usually buy this
Code:
https://smash-eliquid.com/e-juices/tobaccos/golden-tobacco-e-liquid/
70%PG 30%VG 9mg in a 1 litre bottle.

What would i need to buy to make it myself please i have found a ready mixed 70%PG 30%VG
And
100ml 7.2% (72mg) USP/EP Grade Nicotine* Base PG/VG

From my calculations mixing the 1ltr of 70/30 base mix and the 100ml of nicotine would give me a strength of just over 7mg or am i missing something any advice appreciated.

Reactions: BrotherBob

Hawise

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 25, 2013
AB, Canada
It would be a bit under 7 mg/ml - 6.5, actually. You probably forgot to add the extra 100 ml of juice you'd have after adding the nicotine base (nicotine base = the high-strength nicotine you use when mixing). You're in good company as it's a common mistake.

To get a litre of unflavoured PG/VG up to 9 mg/ml, you'd need to add 142.9 ml of 72 mg/ml base (and you'd wind up with 1.14 litres of unflavoured ejuice.

Which leads me to the main thing you've overlooked: flavour. The tobacco flavour has to be added separately - it doesn't come from the nicotine.

Trying to recreate a particular flavour is pretty difficult. However, there are a lot of tobacco flavours and flavour recipes around, so if you're open to finding something new you should be able to come up with something that appeals to you.

I'd recommend looking around our DIY subforum a bit before you start. They're very friendly there and always glad to help newbies find the ropes.

Reactions: lizmart

lizmart

Jan 24, 2021