New to DIY, how much flavouring to add?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Exsmoker

Mar 1, 2017
Hey,
Im new to vaping but have gone through a 30ml bottle in just 2 days and want to save some money!
Im thinking of buying a Litre of 80vg 20pg 6mg nicotine base to make my own flavoured juice, but i have no idea how much flavour to add to that, ive seen some bottles of 10% concentrated flavouring i want to buy but how much of that will i need to add to a Litre of the base so it tastes like the ready made shop bought juices? And will it dilute the nicotine?
Sorry if it's a silly question, i had a scroll through the threads but couldnt find an answer!

Larry J

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 27, 2014
Amarillo, Texas
How much flavoring to add depends on a number of factors:
1) The manufacturer of the flavoring - Some flavorings require a relatively low percentage (1-2% of the total), others require considerably higher percentages.
2) The specific flavor being used - Different flavorings, even from the same manufacturer, require different percentages.
3) Whether you are making a single flavor juice or are mixing two or more different flavorings.
4) Your particular personal preferences.

Be sure to buy flavorings that are highly concentrated. Flavorings made primarily for baking or candy making are often much more diluted than the flavorings used in making e-juice. I recommend that you buy from manufacturers used by members of this forum. There are a number of different companies you can order from for that purpose. Basically, you need to read as much on this specific sub-forum as possible to learn more about DIY. You'll eventually get a feel for mixing and learn what you like and don't like. And, yes, adding flavoring to your base will lower your nic level. How much so depends entirely on how much flavoring is used. Read, read, read, then ask any questions that haven't been answered by your reading here.

Reactions: ceeceeisme

BrotherBob

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran