New to vaping, paranoid about getting fired for having my E-Cig at work!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

R211

Aug 23, 2013
United States
Hello,

I'm a college student with a part time job at a movie theater. Today I brought my e-cig to work, and discreetly vaped in the bathroom during bathroom breaks when no one else was in there, in the elevator, and in the corners of dark, empty, theaters.

No one saw me vape, but I am super paranoid because a coworker told me that managers have kicked out customers for using E-Cigs at the movies, and are "super strict" about it.

I am paranoid and am afraid maybe one of my coworkers will say something to a manager, because I told a few of them about it, or possibly that they will catch me doing it on camera or something. I'm not going to do it anymore, but I'm just super paranoid for some reason.

Basically, I'm not smoking or using tobacco, would they have grounds to fire me over it anyway? If I explain that I wasn't aware I wasn't allowed to vape, and that no customers were around, and that there is no policy on it and will simply refrain for it in the future, am I fine? A friend of mine told me that they cannot legally fire me over that because I could claim they are firing me for the medical condition of nicotine addiction, and I broke no company policies or rules because the only rules in the company handbook is "no tobacco products or smoking on the property."

I'm being paranoid for no reason I'm sure, it's just I was vaping all throughout the day at work, and am afraid someone saw something or will say something :/.

Any advice will be appreciated.