The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

New with rayon

Discussion in 'Wick and Wire' started by dfoster, Jan 27, 2018.

Tags:
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. dfoster

dfoster Full Member

Dec 14, 2017
    Adirondacks, NY
    I’m fairly new to building and have had what seems like a long and slow learning curve with cotton. My main gripe is I just can’t seem to get the flavor I want and/or should be getting. Tried all sorts of different coil configurations and a number of different ways to wick. Figured I might as well throw in another variable...

My latest build on my Azeroth RTA is 3 coils, single strand 12 wrap at 3mm ID for a total resistance coming in about .42ohms. Using cotton I was only getting a day or two of decent clouds/flavor then noticed it dropping off rapidly after that. With that set up I was running around 50w anything more and clouds increased and it would taste a tad burnt, more so as the power went up. With the rayon I left the same build in for best comparison. I read you can take the watts up since it wicks better. Started at same wattage and flavor was better, cloud was about the same. Here’s where it got interesting. I kept creeping the power up and there’s no burnt taste, not even a tad. I ran it up over 100w with no burnt flavor. No doubt since this was my first try with rayon my wicking will improve and it’ll show even more benefits but for now, I’m sold