Small batches ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

backitdown

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 7, 2013
On a boat in So.CA
I'm fairly new to vaping and even newer to DIY e-juice mixing and have a couple questions I hope you can assist with. Being a menthol junkie in my past life, menthol recipes were my first prerequisite to being successful in quitting the analogs. I have gather up the necessary tools for the trade but have run into a problem making small 3-4 ml test batches. Knowing that using drops as a measurement is iffy at best I have an array of syringes from 1 to 10 ml. Using the 1ml syringe for the nic, pg and vg is pretty easy and accurate but adding flavor is very problematic. In a 4 ml batch , flavors of menthol .2ml , peppermint .08 and koola .04ml are called for. Measuring .04 ml (1 drop) even in a 1ml syringe must be fairly iffy as well. But my largest problem is that I have found that the menthol and peppermint flavorings are melting the syringes and making the plunger very sticky and uncontrollable for drops. I may be in looking for a glass 1ml syringe in the near future.

Using small dropper bottles I have tried to determine how many drops per 1 ml and I come up with about 40 for PG bases. As you know the viscosity changes between all the ingredients so the drops will as well. I am not experienced to know if most flavoring have approximately the same viscosity. Flavoring come in glass bottles and would have to be transferred to dropper bottles if drops are used for a measurement which is a pain. What is a guy to use ? - a good quality glass eye dropper calibrated to drops per ml ?
I am afraid the cheap pipettes would meet the same fate as the cheap syringe

So- I guess I am asking what you more experience cooks do when making small batches that require only so little flavoring. Have you found that menthol is so strong it messes with your syringes ? That is a real pain in my *rss.

Having fun----:)

backitdown

ECF Veteran
Verified Member