Something strange....

Status
Not open for further replies.

marader78

Apr 1, 2011
Somerset , MA
Hey guys im new to vaping.Bought a 510 from Drew over at Nhaler 'bout 3 weeks ago, im loving it so far...but something strange happened yesterday.I read from someone on this site, to blow out your attys at night, so maybe to prolong their life...i have not did this once since vaping , but decided to last night, when i did , a small green speckle ended up in the small wet spot from the e-juice...My question is, could it be possible this was mold???...Im no chemist so i dont know if thats possible...BTW it was from an atty i switched out a while ago...so it was not an atty i had been puffing on all day...so maybe mold could have formed over a certain period of time...Also im using Drew's 555 menthol and NUport , so maybe it could have been a menthol crystal, which is what im thinking it was.Just thought i would bring thiis up....

KeithB

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 20, 2011
Annapolis, MD
It's not green, but all my gear gets flecks of tobacco stuck to it because I keep my PV in the same pockets I kept my smokes in. The e-juice is rather sticky and leaks do happen. So far I've been pretty good about not getting stuff in my atty, just in the threads, but my new drip tip has a good sized hole, so it could happen.

brandon555

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 30, 2010
Wisconsin
bumped... for atty cleaning tips...

Don't clean them. Just blow them out or let them sit upside down at night to drain. I usually blow them out a few times a day. It keeps gunk.from building up on the coil.

Cleaning is only necessary when you get a considerable drop in performance. Blowing them out usually prevents this. However when your atty gets old and tired a soak in Everclear or high proof vodka should do the trick.

Dry burns are also good for old gunked up attys as well. I rinse with water, blow water out, dry burn until the coil glows nice and orange. Then it should be ready to go.