Titanium

Status
Not open for further replies.

AvaOrchid

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Sep 19, 2019
USA
I'm interested in getting some titanium wire. I want to use it for temperature control I have been building for a couple months, I'll be using a regulated mod with TC. Currently I've only used stainless steel for temperature control and then I've also built with Kanthal for wattage mode only

If anyone has a recommendation on what titanium wire would be a good starting point for someone with my basic level of building I would really appreciate it.

I tend to use single coils and fairly low wattage below 50 usually I don't like super low builds I don't want to go below like .2. I'm currently using primarily 26 gauge wire and I'm having no problems with that. I would like to be able to get a little bit higher ohms I prefer somewhere around the vicinity of .3 to .8

Is there anything that I need to be really cautious about with titanium I know that it can't get too too hot or there can be some problems. While experimenting with stainless steel in temperature control I usually find that I prefer around 225 to 275 Fahrenheit but obviously we'll go a little bit higher if whatever I've built requires.

When it comes to Titanium do you pulse it like you would stainless steel or is there another method

Punk In Drublic

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 28, 2018
Toronto, ON
I wouldn’t focus so much on a goal resistance as long as the coil falls within your mods limitations. Understand that titanium is lower in resistance than stainless steel of the same gauge and length. It is also lower in mass which will result in lower required power to heat it to the same temperature within the same duration.