USB is killing my pass-thru's!

Status
Not open for further replies.

VapingRulz

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 19, 2009
Florida
I have a problem and I'm hoping someone here can give me some advice.

I've been using my various PT's at the computer for seven months without a single problem. Yesterday I fried not one but TWO different PT's and I don't understand what's going on. I don't think the PT's are the problem - I think there's something wrong with the USB port. Suddenly I was getting pop-up messages saying something along the lines that the PT was exceeding the power available from the USB port, then I'd see a wisp of smoke coming from the PT... and it died.

I have a PC and now I'm down to one spare PT, which I'm afraid to plug in to the USB port because it may kill it.

What happened to cause my USB port to suddenly find the PT overwhelming? Can anyone shed some light on this mystery?

Adrenalynn

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 5, 2009
Sacramento, CA, USA Area
There's no consistency between "left and right" ports being higher or lower power. There is nothing in the USB standard that I'm aware of calling for such a distinction. As an example: My netbook has the same delivery to all the USB ports, left and right.

A power supply can't deliver any more current than the device attempts to source. If you plug it into a trillion watt power source, you're still going to draw the same <~ 10 watts.

There is some chance that somehow the power regulation to your USB ports has decided to fail, delivering too much voltage. That'd be pretty odd since the USB Root on the machine should release its magic smoke before that happens, but one can imagine conditions where that might happen.