Vape sensitivity puzzle...PG? Something else?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enso

ECF Veteran
Jan 31, 2017
Vermont, USA
Hi all,
Maybe you can help me figure this out:

I have been vaping for three months, no cigs, no major problems.
My wife still smokes, but has shown some interest in vaping at least part time. So I set her up with a Pico topped with a Nautilus X, filled with unflavored base at a 1.8% nic level, 70VG. Locked the pico at 14 watts.

She has tried it a couple of times, and each time experiences nausea. I vaped the on that rig with the same juice and settings for a week before I passed it along. No problems for me.

My first guess was PG sensitivity. Nausea is listed as a symptom in some places, but it seems like it more commonly affects the respiratory tract.

My second guess is nic level. She actually smokes more than I used to so I thought 1.8 would be fine... though she smokes filtered and I was smoking rollies.

My two long shots are composition of VG, and reaction to kanthal coil. I haven't even researched those possibilities cos they seem fairly unlikely.

I suppose a good test would be to have her try VG with no nic? (My nicotine is suspended in 50/50, really don't want VG nic unless it's beneficial to her)

Thanks in advance!

Reactions: Opinionated

englishmick

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 25, 2014
Naptown, Indiana
Seems like you only have 3 components, VG, PG, and nic. Can't really be nic sensitivity since she's a smoker. Could be the quantity of nic. I think plain VG would be a good first step. If that gives her nausea you will know. If not then try PG. If there's still no nausea it would have to be the nic, so try it with lower nic level.

Good luck

Reactions: Enso

Enso

ECF Veteran
Jan 31, 2017
Vermont, USA