Vaping and thrush

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robin Lewis

Aug 1, 2018
i have been vaping for 8 years,
After quiting smoking.
I have had thrush aprox. 14 times and never had it ever in my life before vaping. The Rx from the Dr. takes it away but it is a problem.
I haven’t quit vaping since it is very helpful for my severe anxiety.
Also extremely healthier, I was one step from C.O.P.D. From smoking. Vaping and no breathing problems.
I clean my vape constantly, every tank
Fill like 2-3 times a day. I wonder if anyone has any ideas?
I vape one flavor and it only comes 50/50.

Reactions: stols001

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I have had thrush aprox. 14 times and never had it ever in my life before vaping.I wonder if anyone has any ideas?
Thrush (Oral Candidiasis) can be the result of having a dry mouth and upsetting the normal flora (bacteria) in the mouth.

Vaping can result in dry mouth in some individuals. The Pg and Vg in e-liquid (both being hydrophillic) can draw moisture from the mucous membranes. Experienced vapers often recommend that new vapers increase their oral liquid intake to prevent this from occuring.

You could also suck on some hard candy or chew gum to encourage your saliva production while vaping.

Of course there are other medical factors which can cause thrush, some of them serious, which should be investigated by your medical practitioner.

Last edited:

Less_is_More

Aug 2, 2018
Baditude has some excellent suggestions. You do need to hydrate more often, especially vaping that much fluid in one day.

Once you get it under control with medication, I suggest taking a full spectrum probiotic. It won't get rid of active thrush, but will help prevent a new yeast infection from developing.

Also, try switching up on the e-juice you're using. Try a different mix and a different manufacturer. You could be sensitive to a certain flavor additive or the VG/PG combo.