What building tools do I need?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redbird11

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
May 24, 2020
Missouri, USA
So I have been buying up a decent stock of RTAs over the past few weeks, and today it hit me. I have no building tools. My question is this? What exactly do I need. Should I buy one of those fancy Coilmaster all-in-one kits? Should I just buy items seperately? I am having a hard time figuring out what are necessary items, and what things are just kind of extra (nice to have, but can live without). Any guidance would be appreciated.

Anise

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
May 11, 2016
Southern Louisiana USA
Wire cutters, ceramic tiped tweezers, screwdriver, scissors, needle nosed pliers and something to wrap the coil around.
I'm not an expert builder but I think that's what I had in my first tool kit.
I got my Kit at Vaporl for $4.00. Good luck!

englishmick

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 25, 2014
Naptown, Indiana
Scissors for cutting wicks are a key item. Personally I like the ones with slightly curved blades. They are sold on-line as embroidery scissors or surgical scissors and various other names.

These are great. Thin pointy blades. Currently out of stock but there are lots of similar items on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/Grafco-2653-...rafco+2653&qid=1595127588&s=industrial&sr=1-1

Other than that you need a set of pins to wind coils on. Common sizes like 2.5mm and 3.00mm. You can buy sets in various places. There are also little gadgets that supposedly make it easier, but I didn't find them helpful so I went back to wrapping around a pin. Actually I just used drill bits for years, but the mandrels you buy for vaping are easier to hold.