What is Steeping?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lady Ruger

Verified Member
Jan 12, 2014
Southern Utah
Hubby and I went to our favorite vape shop in St. George, and heard a young man talking to one of the guys about the ejuice he was buying, and they talked about letting it "Steep" for a few days. Just wondering what they meant. I was thinking about it tonite, and thought I'd ask!:confused:
I know what "steeping" means as far as letting a cup of tea steep. Do you just let the flavor sit and maybe develop, or is it something else?:blush:

Lady Ruger

( SO much to learn! Just glad I found this site with all the very patient teachers!):)

Jan 5, 2014
Top, Left, USA
I'm a noob so take this with a grain of salt. If the e-juice was made with a flavor that contains alcohol then taking the lid off the juice and letting the bottle sit for a while will allow the alcohol to evaporate, leaving you with the flavor you paid for.

I'm sitting here at the computer enjoying my first DIY e-juice. I mixed the flavoring, PG and VG together in a Pyrex beaker. I then set the beaker on a hotplate to evaporate the alcohol (rapid steeping?). After it cooled to ambient temperature, I added the nicotine and loaded up my vaporizer. It tastes pretty good and cost me about a penny for a milliliter of juice.

There are all kinds of claims out there about steeping but alcohol evaporation is the only one that makes logical sense to me.

Jan 5, 2014
Top, Left, USA
edge64
I've been vaping for less than 2 months but I jumped in with both feet. I haven't smoked a cigarette since my very first puff on a vaporizer. Immediately I started reading everything I could find about the subject. I started wrapping my own coils for my EVOD BCC within a week and now I've started mixing my own e-juice. I'm a firm believer in DIY. The more you can do for yourself the less you have to pay someone else to do.

Talyon

Vape 4 Life
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 21, 2013
Toronto