What makes me cough?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdubbie

ECF Veteran
Jun 9, 2013
Dallas
So I have a question that's been nagging me for some time.

I've been vaping for about 2 years. Every once in a while, I will try a juice that when I first inhale, instantly makes me cough. The cough isn't from too big a throat hit from high nicotine (since my nicotine is only 4 or 6 mg) and I've been able to handle up to 24mg no problem.

It's just this weird sensation that tickles the back of my throat with certain juices. I inhale and instantly cough. I'll take another pull, again cough. In fact with these juices, it usually takes about 10+ pulls before I get used to it.

Anyone know why low nic juices may do this?

Tonkpils

ECF Veteran
Feb 13, 2015
Ontario
E-liquids are not all created equal. The VG/PG Ratio is the most likely culprit since liquids with higher PG content have more throat-hit. However it could also be poor quality ingredients just the same.

This, I've found liquids of the same nic strength and PG:VG ratio are not all equally smooth.

coolerat

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 20, 2015
Verona,NY

I've been vaping for about 2 years. Every once in a while, I will try a juice that when I first inhale, instantly makes me cough. The cough isn't from too big a throat hit from high nicotine (since my nicotine is only 4 or 6 mg) and I've been able to handle up to 24mg no problem.

It's just this weird sensation that tickles the back of my throat with certain juices. I inhale and instantly cough. I'll take another pull, again cough. In fact with these juices, it usually takes about 10+ pulls before I get used to it.

Everyone is so differrent I'd say it was impossible to do more then guess.