304 / 316 SS and TC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daisychainvaper

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 21, 2015
Just saw that fasttech has now 304 and 316 SS Wire so I am interested.

Why would someone use 304 when you can have 316?

As far as I know the Triton coils (subohm) use 316 and they are quite nice. They do work if you have an adjustable TCR but TC is a bit choppy as it does not change resistance a lot. But in the end this would be a material that you can use for TC and non TC, right?

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal

Froth

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 1, 2014
Chipotle.
304 is essentially the same in chemical compostion, however 304 Lacks Molybdenum that 316 carries, 316 has the Molybdenum added for improved weldability among other features for that alloy. For what it's worth, I've been using 304 Stainless wire for ~6 months now and I positively love it and I'm using it without temp control. 304 grade(UNS 30400) is generally considered the standard "surgical" or "food grade" stainless steel.

My reasoning for moving over to Stainless Steel from Kanthal is that I was not particularly fond of the aluminum oxide layer which Kanthal forms and over time changes the flavor and I begin to taste a metallic tinge in my flavors. Stainless keeps the same flavor for a much longer time, I have 304 SS coils going on three months old and they're still performing great.

zoiDman

Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
304 is essentially the same in chemical compostion, however 304 Lacks Molybdenum that 316 carries, 316 has the Molybdenum added for improved weldability among other features for that alloy. For what it's worth, I've been using 304 Stainless wire for ~6 months now and I positively love it and I'm using it without temp control. 304 grade(UNS 30400) is generally considered the standard "surgical" or "food grade" stainless steel.