Am I at least in the right ballpark?

Status
Not open for further replies.

OlderNDirt

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Nov 8, 2014
Nebraska
I am new to DIY and have been doing a lot of reading here on how to go about it. At this point, my intent is to get a supply of nic on hand and in storage. But I also want to try some mixing to see how it works and what I might be able to come up with. So let me know if I am heading down the right path or down the rabbit hole.....

I am ready to place my orders for 100mg/ml nic in 100% VG, 500ml from Nude Nicotine and 500ml from Wizard Labs. From what I have read, both very clean and not real peppery. Also looking at picking up at least a few 120ml amber bottles, some VG and PG, a 5 pack flavor package, and different size syringes and blunt tips. I have a supply of used plastic and glass dripper bottles to use for now, so I think that should do for what I want to accomplish to start.

Adhering to the K.I.S.S. principal, all I want to do for now is get a couple 120ml bottles of nic base reduced down to a usable nic level and store the remaining 100mg nic in the freezer. I buy my juice at 6mg nic in a 70/30 VG/PG ratio, but for now, I am not concerned with some variation from those numbers. So, using steam engine calculator with a target of 8mg/ml nic and a 70/30 ratio, I came up with 9.6ml base, 77.28ml VG and 33.12ml PG for the reduction. That should give me room for further reductions depending on the amount of flavorings added (up to 25% resulting in a 6mg nic) and VG can be added when adding less flavoring.

So that is what I've come up with for the easiest way for me to get started. That gives me some nic in storage and hopefully by the time those two 120ml bottles start to run dry, I'll have at least a couple juices I can regularly use. And yes, I got the "write everything down" message. So let me know what you think.....go for it or I am receptive to easier starting out tips.

scotdc

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 4, 2015