battery charging on my mod

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveS45

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Jan 27, 2016
Long Island, New York
Contrary to what other will tell you I see no problem charging the batteries in a MOD that is designed to charge in the MOD. Been told my Alien does not do balanced charging but testing the device multiple times has proved this is just BS propagated by people who do not actually own the device. If it can't handle charging safely why is it built into the device? Sure some do not do it as well as others but some of the information you read can be based on bad cells or mismatched unmarried groups. Just my opinion and I am not an expert. Just have a fair amount of hands on experience............

Walee

ECF Veteran
Oct 6, 2017
I have never done any testing myself to say one way or the other. I always charge in a separate charger but that is more about keeping the mod going than anything else. I bought an 18650 flashlight for the same reason. I can swap batteries and keep it going. One battery can be busy charging in the background so to speak.

• Agree
Reactions: stols001

SteveS45

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Jan 27, 2016
Long Island, New York
I own a 4 bay charger but I do not bring it with me when I spend a few days away from home and there are times I need to charge more MOD's or batteries than I have charging bays for. The reason I tested the Alien was because of all the BS I heard about it. In my opinion it isn't worth the bits of data it takes to store it on the server aside from the fact the person that was disseminating this incorrect info did not own one and was going on what a reviewer posted.

Paul Mohr

Oct 28, 2017
Adrian MI
I have the speeder and when I first got it I charged the batteries in the mod. It did a much better job than my POS trustfire charger. The reviews I have seen on the speeder have pretty much said it does a decent job of doing internal charging as far as balanced charging and what not.