buying an e-cig for my mom for Christmas. help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tacilunarain

Dec 14, 2009
Florida
My mom has been a smoker for the past 30 years and since I was a kid she's been trying to quit. She's tried the pills, patches, gum, even acupuncture to no avail. So now she's kind of given up on quitting.

For Christmas I'm considering getting her an e-cig so atleast she won't be taking in all the toxic chemicals but she can still have her nicotine.

My only problem is I don't have a clue where to begin on what brand and type and etc.
I'm a college student so I do have a budget of around $100 for the cig itself. I also need something that its relatively easy to get refills and any technical assistance should she need it.

Any suggestions? Where do I begin? What looks, feels, and tastes most like a real cig?

frogbmth

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Feb 8, 2009
Dorset, UK
www.jantyclub.com
Firstly welcome to ECF.

Secondly I wish I got ecig things as presents, everybody gets me socks :D

Thirdly my opinion. I would say the 510 in white or the KR808D-1 would be good places to start looking. Both are available from multiple vendors and brands. The thing with cartridge based ecigs like the 510 is that almost all of us have to refill our carts, top them up or drip liquid into the atomizer to make it a real alternative to smoking. This means that a supply of liquid is needed as well as the patience and inclination to do it. The KR808D-1 does not have this problem. Refilling is still popular but it is very possible to just dispose of the cartomizers as the makers intend although this does work out more costly. Again you can get them in white.

As for flavour, I am afraid none of them taste of cigarettes. If you can stretch to it, I would recommend a selection of flavours and strengths - don't just look for tobacco flavours. Then your mom can try them out and get an idea of what she might like to keep getting in future.