• This forum has been archived

If you'd like to post a thread, post it here instead!

View Forum

Depression

Status
Not open for further replies.

jj2

Moved On
ECF Veteran
May 30, 2009
Hundred Acre Wood
I'm starting this thread because some members have stated they suffer from depression.
I, myself, deal with it daily, but I do not suffer from it, my husband does.

I'm here to listen or provide a shoulder to unload on but my opinion will be from a loved ones point of view.

I will suggest that any in-depth discussion be taken to the Private Room.
You must PM me for the password and remember that even though the post is not visible to the membership, the title is.
I should also add that ECF administration CAN read the post.

AngusATAT

Captain Tightpants
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 2, 2009
GA, USA
I should also add that ECF administration CAN read the post.

Yes we can... and some of us are a little Wrecked and Bonkers, too.

I'm a disabled vet. There hasn't been a day in the last 20 years where my leg hasn't hurt every minute of every day. I had to stop taking painkillers for it because I had such a high tolerance for them I ended up taking about 5 times the recommended dose. I also was diagnosed with a chemical imbalance which causes depression back when I was a teenager.

I had such a problem with the prescriptions for depression that I had to stop taking them. I'd rather feel depressed than numb, walking around like a zombie. I had to train myself to recognize the signs of depression, then convince my brain that what I was feeling was just a lie, and that I had nothing to be depressed about (which is true.. despite everything, I love my life and have no regrets). Once my brain gets the message that I am going to ignore it, the depression goes away.

I wish that solution could work for everyone, but I know I'm not very normal where handling depression is concerned.

jj2

Moved On
ECF Veteran
May 30, 2009
Hundred Acre Wood