DIY Percentage Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xerox

Oct 5, 2017
Newfoundland and Labrador
So I've been doing DIY for a few months now mixing 3 flavors that add up to 15% and flavor has been good.
Now I'm looking to do a recipe with just one flavor (Perique Tobacco). Should I still aim for 15% flavoring or is that too much when using a single flavor for a DIY eliquid? Should I aim for 10% or even 5%?

Thanks

Reactions: stols001

somdcomputerguy

vaper dedicato
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Contest Winner!
    Perique Black is one of the two flavors that I use. I would go with Beamslider's post and start at 5%, but in a small batch (10mls or so) and go up or down (in the amount of flavor) from there. FWIW, I use a 4, sometimes 5, % ratio of that flavor, but everybody's taste buds are different..

Last edited:

stols001

Moved On
    ECF Veteran
    May 30, 2017
    As you move away from commercial eliquids, sometimes your tastebuds and what you want out of a vape will change. I'd agree about starting out lower, and adjusting up if you find you need to. I find it so much easier to adjust flavoring up slightly than trying to dilute it down. Give it at least a few days of steeping before you taste it though (ideally at LEAST a week) as flavors will change and intensify over time as they are shaken then rest... Even if it's a single flavor mix. I THINK tobaccos are those that may require slightly longer steep times but I haven't ever mixed tobacco flavoring so I am far from an expert in that arena.

Best of luck,

Anna

somdcomputerguy

vaper dedicato
    ECF Veteran
    Verified Member
    Contest Winner!