Legal question from new user

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, everybody. I'm brand new to the universe of the E-Cig, and I'm having a bit of a legal issue that I can't seem to find some info on. Hoping someone here can help me.

The issue I am having is with the Xhale O2 system sold by 7-11, or more specifically, the E-Hookah model. The idea of being able to enjoy the flavor of a hookah, regardless of location, appealed greatly to me, so I bought it and gave it a try. Unfortunately, the one I had purchased came with a bad atomizer. On the back of the package, it says that it has a full warranty of up to 1 year for faulty parts, and that you can return to place of purchase for a full refund or exchange.

After reading this, I had returned to the 7-11 where I had purchased the E-Hookah, and inquired about the exchange. After discussing my situation with the sales clerk, he went to fetch his supervisor. The rather rude supervisor said that he could not take the E-Hookah back, that it is against the law to take back any tobacco product, as governed by the FDA.

Is this correct? Does he have the legal right to refuse an exchange despite the packaging saying otherwise? I would think it legal if the manufacturer says it is ok.

sam12six

ECF Veteran
Sep 16, 2010
Georgia
I think you're right (from my non-lawyer perspective) that it is legal to exchange it (as it is not yet a tobacco product governed by the FDA). That said, you're probably SOL trying to to go through an employee who's wrong but convinced he's in the right.

In your situation, I think I'd either try contacting 7-11 higher up the food chain or the manufacturer (they probably wouldn't actually do anything, but could help by referring you to someone within 7-11 who can make something happen for you).

If these don't work, you're looking at eating the cost.

Crumpet

ECF Veteran
Oct 7, 2010
central VA