Mistake buying an SVD?

Status
Not open for further replies.

old_geezer

ECF Veteran
Apr 4, 2014
Lansing, MI USA
I'm new. 3.5 weeks vaping. I have an MVP 2.0, eGo Mega V V2, lots of twists and stuff. I thought I'd get something beastly that would blow a cloud. So I ordered an SVD, a Fogger v4, and a pair of Sony VTC5 batteries. Then I read more. The SDV is limited to 5 amps. Will it give me significant more clouds than an MVP 2.0 and a cotton wicked Protank 2? I ordered some thicker Kanthal also, 25-26 or so, maybe both, and some 3.5mm silica. It hasn't even arrived yet, and I'm already looking at a Stingray. Your job is to tell me the SVD sux and I need a Stingray :p

- Joe

old_geezer

ECF Veteran
Apr 4, 2014
Lansing, MI USA
Are you familiar with Ohm's Law? If you are, you should know the answer. If not, you don't need a Stingray even if the SVD "sux" big time.

So why do people use 20-30 amp max RMS batteries? Can the SVD give them a workout? I got an electronics degree long ago from Elkin's Institute in Tulsa, OK so I'm good to go with Ohms law. The new ones on fasttech will fire a .8 Ohm coil. Nothing lower. Are you familiar with the SVD? I don't think the SVD "sux" big time. Is that your opinion?
- Joe

gpjoe

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 30, 2013
Up North
Joe,

OK, you know Ohm's Law, so you know that with a .8 ohm coil, the most current you could ever draw from a 4.2 volt battery (which is what your batteries would be fresh off the charger) would be 5.25 amps on a mechanical mod - assuming zero voltage drop across your mod. You would also know that 5.25 amps exceeds the max of your SVD. I don't own an SVD so I can't be sure what would happen, but I would guess it would either: a) refuse to fire or b) fire but limit your current to 5 amps.

Getting to your original question: