New to rebuildables, few issues wicking

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShinyPig

Dec 31, 2017
hi, so to start off i just got my first rda, an innokin thermo, i know its not the most popular rda around but im quite enjoying it im just having a few issues with wicking as its my first time doing this

basically im having issues of a dry hit if i take too long of a puff, but its also gurgling like crazy and when i let go of the button it still sizzles for around a second after?

ive read around and it seems like gurgling means not enough cotton, but the dry hit/sizzling after means too much cotton? how can i have too much and too little at the same time?

i have tried vaping it on 70w all the way up to 140w, thought below 85w it seems to take way too long to even heat up the coil and produce vapor, anyone got any ideas?

the coils im using are alien claptons at 0.45ohm duel coil, reading 0.2ohm on my mod which is gx350 if that matters, anyway thanks for any help on this

Reactions: Letitia

ShinyPig

Dec 31, 2017
Welcome to ECF.
You didn't mention what mod you are using. Sounds like your coils are ramping slow. What wire are they made from and what device are you using?
my mod is gx350, pretty sure i said that, as for coils, im not 100% sure, i got one of those 8 in 1 prebuilt coils packs as i dont want to really start building the coils just yet,

this is the pack i got Dynas 48 Pre Made Coil Set but it doesnt state any info on the actual coils

Reactions: stols001

Letitia

Citrus Junkie
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 2, 2017
West Frankfort, IL
my mod is gx350,
Apologies, you did mention that. Your coils are probably kanthal or kanthal/ni80. TC is not an option. Your mod has a function that lets you set for hard hit for how ever many seconds you choose to set. Use it to improve the coils ramp time. Start at 1 second and work your way up a second at a time until you find the sweet spot.

ShinyPig

Dec 31, 2017