Status
Not open for further replies.

gmypc

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 16, 2012
GTA, ON
Hello!

New here but been lurking for a while. First, let me say thanks to everyone here - very supportive and informative.

Did a quick search for zyban to search for e-cigs and zyban used together. Most hits were related to past techniques etc. Just curious if the combination is a silly idea or even a 'no-no'.

Got my sights on a ego-c starter kit and just have to research juices. (I have used zyban about 7 years ago - relapsed in year 2)

Thanks!

s14sher

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 8, 2011
Oklahoma
A couple of caveats:
  • Please consult your doctor
  • I am not a medical professional and any advice I give is purely for informational purposes and not a medical recommendation.

That said, I have been on Bupropion (The real name for Zyban) for depression/anxiety for several years and I have no issues with vaping while taking it. I smoked for years while taking it and my psychiatrist was aware of it. I personally don't see any difference in smoking or vaping while taking it, other than vaping has far fewer other chemicals in it, so it should be safer.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
Yes, consult your doctor first.

If I'm not mistaken, Zyban works to help smokers quit by blocking the brain's receptors to whatever is in cigarettes that makes them addictive (nicotine or any of the hundreds of other chemicals). The smoker theoretically will no longer gain pleasure from the cigs and therefore has an easier time to stop.

This however, doesn't take into account for the years of learned behavior of the hand to mouth ritual, holding a cig in the hand ritual, or the desire for inhaling heated air into the throat and lungs. Vaping seems to be more successful to me, because it has all those elements present from smoking, but without the harmful long term effects of inhaling burning tobacco smoke.