Plastic Inserts for Glass Bottles?

Status
Not open for further replies.

timbit

ECF Veteran
Aug 20, 2013
Canada
I'm sorry to sound stupid or disrespectful (i'm a newbie) but why would you want plastic lined glass...

I'm a medical professional, I use more glass vials then I can count (including those designed for hypodermic, blunt draw {whether metal or plastic} & I.V. Sets) & A- I can't think of any that have plastic liners (though I'ld probably avoid it if I was offered the option); B- I avoid plastic because of its tendency to leech (yes, no one knows if those chemicals are harmful in smaller amounts but I don't want to be the Guinea pig) & C- the only concern with glass leeching is regarding glasses with heavy metals (mercury, etc) but they don't have that in pharmaceutical (or majority of kinds) glass anymore.

What benefit are you hoping to achieve by lining your glass with plastic? For that matter what hypodermic vial are you talking about that has plastic liners in glass bottles? Could you provide a link?

Sorry if i'm not understanding everything correctly or am perceived as talking down to you, i'm really just trying to understand what you are trying to do.

Adam

Jim Diamond

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 21, 2013
North Texas
Last edited:

timbit

ECF Veteran
Aug 20, 2013
Canada
Alright, that makes far more sense then what I was thinking.. . I don't know what sized bottles, etc you use but I've dozens of various actual vials if that would be helpful? Off hands I have 10cc, (maybe 20 or 30cc), 60cc, 100cc & I'll probably have some 500 or 1000cc coming shortly...

Besides that, I go through lots of vials, if you give me some measurements I can see if any of the lids would fit your needs?

Sorry for the misunderstanding

Adam.

timbit

ECF Veteran
Aug 20, 2013
Canada
Incidentally of course I would make certain they were throughly cleaned out before I gave it to anyone, though I would still recommend you cleaning it out when you get it...