Recommend Me A MTL Mech Mod?

Status
Not open for further replies.

G and C

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 3, 2014
California
I've been using strictly regulated mods for the last 6-7 years, and have been pretty happy since I found my sweet spot of 1.8ohm coils at 11w and 18mg nicotine about 5 years ago. But with all of the nonsense going on at the moment, it has me thinking I might want to invest in something a little more durable than internal battery regulated mods.

I understand the basics of Ohms Law, but don't have any experience with using it, so I'm wondering if anyone can point me in a general direction that would get me something that would work with my current setup. I typically use RTAs, although I have recently gotten into RDAs with my introduction to squonking, and it's always the same 1.8ohm coil build (28g, 10 wraps, 2.5mm ID). Should I be looking at 18650 mods? Maybe 18350 for my coil setup?

Any guidance appreciated!

mimöschen

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jul 15, 2016
1.8ohms is a bit high on a mech mod, so with the max output of 8.5W the vape might be a bit on the cold side.
Me personally I wouldn't go higher than 1.2ohm. Ymmv of course.

At those amplevels it comes down to personal preference, whether you like a shorter or taller setup.
Batterylife, overall performance and most importantly availability would be more important to me. I'd probably go for a 18650 mod, because high quality/capacity cells like the LG HG2, Samsung 30Q, and Murata/Sony VTC6 are readily available. The better 18350 cells like the YDL are hard to come by though, or you have to buy unknown rewraps. Most of those rewraps are garbage, but even YDLs still suffer from significant inconsistencies.

Which mod you choose might be dictated by your atty. A 22mm atty might look okay on a 24mm mech or even fit perfectly if it comes with a beauty ring, but a plain 18mm atty will look ridiculous even on a 22mm tube.