Not open for further replies.

englishmick

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 25, 2014
Naptown, Indiana
I’ve been using ProTanks exclusively since I graduated from Evod's. Right now I’m thinking about making my own coils. I like tinkering, it’s cheaper, etc. And Kanger coils are fussy to deal with. Spend so much time cleaning them, never know for sure when it’s time to replace them. Etc.

I’ve spent a bunch of time reading here trying to figure out a good starter rta. Looking at a Kaifun GT or a Lemo based on people’s comments about ease of use and so forth.

I have a question though. There seems to be some kind of qualitative difference between regular tanks and RTA tanks, which I don’t entirely get. RTA’s have filler holes. Different construction, with an outer juice container feeding juice into the center part where the coil is, leaking through air holes if you don’t get the coil and wick just right. I'm starting to get a vague understanding of how they work, but not why.

Is there a reason why there isn’t an RTA tank with the same design as a ProTank? Maybe there is or maybe I’m missing something.

I’m also planning to try rebuilding my Kanger coils. With my old shaky eyes I’m going to need a big magnifying glass though.

State O' Flux

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 17, 2013
Seattle
Is there a reason why there isn’t an RTA tank with the same design as a ProTank? Maybe there is or maybe I’m missing something.
Any 'tank' atomizer which uses "pressure differential" to both retain and deliver liquid to the coil(s) are similar... this includes both the Kanger Protank, which you are intimately familiar with, as well as the Svoemesto Kayfun, or Smokerstore Taifun GT, and their numerous variations and clones... which, at this time, you are only mildly familiar with.