VHO Helios Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Richard75

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 23, 2012
Pennsylvania
So I've been tinkering with my Helios I just got yesterday, and have some questions. I've done rebuildable drippers before, but this is my first attempt at a dual coil. The Helios is capable of quad coils... however, I'm sticking with dual at the moment. Anyway, I haven't been getting the vapor one would expect from a dual coil, and I believe the reason is that I just don't know how the air holes are supposed to line up! My coils are pristine... looped silica with the loop wedged underneath the coil itself, both coils together are giving me a nice resistance of 1.2 or so. The atomizer has two large air holes close to each other on each side that are adjustable.

I've drawn up a little diagram that would make Renoir proud. The two plus represent the split positive post on the Helios, and the negatives are (surprise surprise!) the grounds. The squiggle-things are my coils, and the arrow represent the airholes, which are also a direct mirror image on the other side, so I only felt it necessary to do it on one. The a, b and c are the various placements I've experimented with.

Helios.jpg

So my question is, obviously option (b) would be best for my current setup, yes? And if I were to do a quad coil someday, obviously the placement would have to be (a), but so far that placement has been terrible on the dual coils. I experimented with (c) a bit, but it was the same experience as (a), I'm just listing all the viable options. Like I said, I've never done dual coils before, and it so far isn't any different from a single coil (as far as vapor, flavor and throat hit goes... my head swims with nicotine after a few vapes, but that's it).

Perhaps someone that has a Helios, or someone familiar with dual to quad coils, could enlighten me? How are you setting up the air holes?

vapo jam

ECF Veteran
May 25, 2013
county of orange, ca