What's the deal with Glycerin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

howard

May 11, 2009
New York
Jerry_Seinfeld.jpg

Newbie here, I may have jumped the gun and bought the wrong glycerin bottle.

I checked three places.
1. Target - did not have any in my local store
2. CVS - found under the "Laxatives" isle... did not say USP on label but did say it was 100$ mineral oil(whatever that means), it was a CVS branded item
3. Duane Reade - bought from them. It was behind the counter, although there's not indication that this was not available over-the-counter.

Here's what I bought:

Glycerin(Skin Protectant) USP from HUMCO
16FL OZ(473mL) 1PT $21.09

Under Active Ingredients Purpose
Glycerin 99.5% Anhydrous Skin Protectant

Question, has anyone else used this? is this the correct Glycerin form?

How is this different from PG(Propylene Glycerin) and VG(Vegetable Glycerin)?

Description
The liquid is clear(like water).

btw, on the label of the bottle, it lists this site: http://simplehomeremedies.com/products/

ccure

Unregistered Supplier
ECF Veteran
Mar 29, 2009
Colombia, South America
I had read a lot of post talking about the HUMCO Glycerin and a lot of people in this post are using it, so you will not have any problem with it.

Porpelin Glicon is extracted from petroleum.

VG is extracted from Vegetables. It is sweet and would dumb the taste of the eliquid, so you will have to ad a little more flavor to your eliquid or get used to it.

howard

May 11, 2009
New York
I had read a lot of post talking about the HUMCO Glycerin and a lot of people in this post are using it, so you will not have any problem with it.

Porpelin Glicon is extracted from petroleum.

VG is extracted from Vegetables. It is sweet and would dumb the taste of the eliquid, so you will have to ad a little more flavor to your eliquid or get used to it.

Is there some tutorial on how to do the mixing? I'm coming across a lot of discussions but no definitive thread on how-to mix.