Why Did I Wait So Long?!?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

luvabull

Dec 18, 2011
Pearl, Mississippi
I've been researching e cigs on and off for about 8 months now. Like most of you, I've tried to quit smoking too many times to count. I've smoked Kool 100's for 31 years, 1 1/2 - 2 PAD. I lost my Dad and a brother within 4 months of each other to stroke and lung cancer. I have chronic bronchitis. I see my family doctor more than I see a lot of my family!

A little over two weeks ago, my husband and I found out that he has to have a fourth back surgery. There's fusing and hardware this time. The neurosurgeon will not perform this operation unless my hubby stops smoking. He's a 2 PAD Marlboro smoker for 37 years. Of course I don't expect him to quit while I continue to smoke. He decided to go cold turkey, I decided to gradually quit with the help of an e cig. I ordered starter kits for both of us. (Ego from Liberty Flights)

I had just opened a pack of analogs, and was smoking the first one when I got my supplies from the mailbox. That was Monday, December 19, and that was the last analog I smoked. I had two unopened packs in addition to the just opened pack. I kept the open pack on my desk for the first week, and reached over them for the Ego every time. I understand it doesn't work like this for everyone, and I'm so thankful that it did for me.

Hubby was still skeptical, although he was very impressed with my progress. He went cold turkey 2 days, grumpy & ill, until I handed him an Ego filled with a Red Bull juice. He's not had an analog either, and grumpy and ill disappeared quickly! We've both been analog free for 2 weeks today!

We have converted 8 friends and family members already! The neurosurgeon said "let me see you smoke it" in his exam room! lol

Thanks for all the info I've gotten from here. You people are awesome!:toast:

Hottody

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Mar 20, 2011
Temcula CA