YOUDE nailed it! Coil winding jig Version 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

whosrandy

ECF Veteran
Aug 23, 2013
I own a lot of vaping hardware, insane amounts of DIY flavoring, kanthal, batteries, etc. However, this is my favorite purchase to date.

I kept my eyes on the Kuro winders as they were introduced. Authentic seemed a bit steep for decent quality and clones were iffy. Finally this stainless steel refined beauty with the kinks worked out emerged.

All I can say is WOW: I will never hand wrap another coil again. I am by no means an amateur coil builder, having done fused claptons, zippers, etc. However, I have gone back to the similar ways and this beauty is irreplaceable in my tool kit.

Let's get to some images...

PERFECT SCREW SIZE / SHAPE

EXAMPLE 1: 30g kanthal @ 2mm ID

NOTE: I have NEVER used 30g before on it's own. This is my first time wrapping a coil with it, let alone my first time using it with a jig. My first wrap was a bit off but it was very easy to learn from there.

Example #2: How about a big boy? 22G A1 Kanthal @ 3.5mm!

22G vs 30G!

Example #3: 26G a1 kanthal @ 2.5mm ID

Example #4: 28g a1 kanthal @ 2mm ID
NOTE: Wonky old coil that I've used, inserted and removed from an rda. Old and nasty but still looks great! :)

[/b]

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal
Tensioned Micro Coils. The next step. | E-Cigarette Forum

"Don't be confused by these new devices where a "jig" of sorts forms the wire around a rod by turning an attachment that grabs the wire and forms it around a rod. Yes, it does produce a pretty coil, but we theorize that is "visually perfecting an imperfect coil."

I don't wish to start a fight--but I would love to see a discussion about formed vs tensioned coils.